thirty five

It’s my birthday tomorrow. Happy birthday to meee!!

floating-women-in-air-and-balloons

I’ve been in a real state of reflection lately; searching for my path, wondering why I’m here, what my skills are, what my Why is, how to be professionally and personally fulfilled. Thinking about what makes me tick, why I do what I do, why I like what I like, why I want what I want – and what even do I want?

Reflection. Contemplation. Meditation.

Searching for the age-old question:

What do I want to be when I grow up?

I requested, and was thrilled to receive Leonie Dawson’s Life + Biz Planner for mother’s day. I’ve only had it for a couple of weeks but already I have started to see things more clearly. I’ve also been listening to the Happier podcast, by Gretchen Rubin (of The Happiness Project fame). Things are becoming more shiny. I feel like I have a purpose. Some direction. A little bit of a plan. And it’s exciting!

Thought it might be timely on this birthday eve to do a little stocktake, a la, Meet Me At Mikes. I’ve done it a few times now and it’s lovely to look back and see where my mind and heart were sitting at a particular time.

♥ Taking Stock ♥

Making :: a food baby. I’m starting Whole30 officially on June 1st and plan to unofficially start tomorrow. The last few days I’ve been enjoying foodstuffs that I know will be off the menu for the next 30 days. Not all bad. A little too much chocolate perhaps, but mostly yummies like sourdough with butter and raw honey, or spiced cinnamon. And port. As a result, I’m a little squidgey around the middle, my new work uniforms are a little snug and I don’t think we have any cacao or cocoa powder left in the house. I’ll call that one Taking It For The Team.

Cooking :: porridge, chocolate, veggie hash meals, lots of eggs.

Drinking :: not enough water. A little too much milk and port. Separately.

Reading :: The Happiness Project.

Wanting: a week-full of wake-less nights and 7am sleep-ins. Scratch that. I’d be happy with JUST ONE night without being woken by one or both kids, and one morning where I sleep until at least 7 o’clock. I’ve put in a request with hubby for tonight. Fingers crossed, eh?

Looking :: forward a little too much. Trying to embrace mindfulness.

Playing :: dress the dolls with Miss3. Every day. She loves it. Dolls of mine that were never undressed have been disrobed, teddybears squeeze into baby doll clothes like The Only Gay in the Village.

Deciding :: that I think I might finally be grown up enough to just fucking do it. Whatever that may be.

Wishing :: that the TVC fairy waves her wand over Hubby’s head tonight.

Enjoying :: Roobios tea and coconut milk. Several times a day.

Waiting :: to see if we’re moving to the country.

Liking :: how I’ve started to make some leeway in my quest for the meaning of (my) life.

Wondering :: if I’ll sleep through tonight.

Loving :: the ‎2015 Create Your Shining Year In Life + Biz Workbookers! Facebook group. And my workbook. And my ubercircles.

Pondering :: about how I can use all of my skills and passions to create an abundant life.

Considering :: where we should buy a house.

Watching :: The Code. Have you seen it? Do yourself a favour and check it out. It’s incredible.

Hoping :: to sleep through the night tonight.

Marvelling :: at Miss 3’s ability to draw.

Needing :: a week of uninterrupted sleep. There seems to be a bit of a theme here.

Smelling :: roobios tea and coconut milk. Wishing I was smelling chai, but I cannot (easily) find one that I like at the moment.

Wearing :: T’s Commonwealth Lighthouse Services hoodie. 

Following :: Sacred Earth on Spotify.

Noticing :: that I’m a little sniffly. And my back has been really sore recently.

Knowing :: that I’ve had enough last hurrahs to see me through the month of June and beyond. 

Thinking :: about things to add to my 100 things to do in 2015 list.

Feeling :: tired. Bone tired.

Admiring :: how free my kids are. 

Sorting :: always. Washing, toys, stuff.

Buying :: a little more than we should, but less than we have in the past.

Getting :: tired.

Bookmarking :: images for my online dreamboard.

Disliking :: how much I vague out into iphone land again.

Opening :: birthday cards tomorrow.

Giggling :: infrequently. I need a good giggle.

Feeling :: positive.

Snacking :: on toast with butter and honey. 

Coveting :: nothing. I don’t covet anymore. Stuff is a little less attractive to me these days.

Wishing :: I could see just a few days into the future.

Helping :: patients. And mostly enjoying it.

Hearing :: my inner voice tell me to go and have a bath. Sounds like a plan to me.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sara
    Jun 03, 2015 @ 12:11:54

    Because I am such an awesome friend I opened this post on my phone weeks ago, then didn’t actually read it until tonight!!
    I hope your birthday was lovely xx
    Sounds like you have loads of awesome lovely stuff happening at the moment.
    Xxx

    Like

    Reply

  2. Sara
    Jun 03, 2015 @ 12:15:01

    Im such an awesome friend. I opened this post to read on my phone last week, I didn’t actually get to read it until tonight.
    I also ignored the reminder on my phone of your birthday! So yes awesome friend!

    I hope you had a wonderful birthday, you are an inspiring mother & wife & friend. It sounds like you have lots of exciting things happening at the moment xxx

    Like

    Reply

  3. aparentinglife
    Jun 16, 2015 @ 05:42:54

    Hope you had a wonderful birthday lovely. 35 is a great age, start of a new 7 cycle. Sending lots of fairy wishes and butterfly kisses your way xx

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Two Beautiful Bunnies

I'm a mama to two beautiful babies. I have started this blog to gather my thoughts and try to improve who I am as a person but particularly as a mother, wife, daughter and sister.

Gabrielle Bernstein, Inc.

Become the happiest person you know!

